Entropy rising (2011)

Duration: 15′
Instrumentation: fl, ob, cl, piano, vln, vla, vc

Entropy rising was composed for my second composition jury at UCSD in 2011. The ensemble is organized in three groups – flute, viola, and clarinet; piano; and violin, oboe, and cello – which are treated independently throughout much of the piece. A key structural element of the piece is a chorale that is orchestrated in six different ways expanded across six different time scales, from a few seconds to over a minute. These orchestrated chorales are inserted at different points in the music, interrupting the prevailing music texture, sometimes smoothly, sometimes messily.


October 2011 – La Jolla, CA (world premiere)
Nicholas Deyoe, conductor